Adna G. Wilde Award for Excellence


WildeThe Adna G. Wilde Jr. Award for Excellence in named in honor of Lt. Col. (Ret.) and ANA Past President Adna G. Wilde Jr. Wilde provided leadership for the Association for 40 years, serving as executive director, governor, vice president, president, treasurer and parliamentarian. He received the Farran Zerbe Award in 1985, the Medal of Merit in 1991, the Numismatist of the Year Award in 2005 and Presidential Awards in 1994, 1998 and 2008. He was elected to the ANA Numismatic Hall of Fame in 2002. Wilde passed away in 2008.

A respected numismatist, Wilde has published definitive research on Lesher dollars and counterstamped Stone Mountain commemorative half dollars. Before his distinguished service with the ANA, he was a Lieutenant Colonel in the U.S. Army, and was wounded in combat in Italy during World War II.



The award honors an ANA member who dedicates his or her time and resources to strengthen the hobby and further the educational mission of the ANA, and sets an example for others to follow.


The nominee should be an ANA member who has demonstrated several years of enthusiastic service in volunteering time, expertise and/or resources that contributes to the growth and success of the ANA.


Nomination form