Elvira Clain-Stefanelli Memorial Award

The Elvira Clain-Stefanelli Memorial Award for Achievement in Numismatics was established and first given in 2013 to honor women who have made significant contributions to numismatics. These contributions, whether in research, leadership or mentorship, must have made a lasting impact on the numismatic community and demonstrated a lifelong commitment to the betterment of numismatics.

The annual award is presented at the Awards Banquet held in conjunction with the Association's Annual World's Fair of Money.

The recipient receives a medal and engraved plaque.


Eligibility Criteria

The award will be presented to one individual annually; institutions or organizations are not eligible

Candidates must be living, but need not be members of the ANA or currently engaged in numismatics.


Nomination Process

Nominations are accepted from ANA members on or before January 15 of any given year.

All nominations must include the date of submission, and the nominee's name, background (awards, support of the hobby, etc.) and birth date (if known).

Self nomination is acceptable.



Anonymous donation to the American Numismatic Association



Nomination form