30 Jun 2008

Leon Hendrickson named Numismatist of the Year

News | ANA Official Post | jfletcher

Leon Hendrickson named Numismatist of the Year

Leon Hendrickson is the recipient of the American Numismatic Association’s 2008 Numismatist of the Year for his many contributions to the hobby. He will be presented the award during the ANA Membership Reception at 4 p.m. Aug. 1 during the World’s Fair of Money® in Baltimore. 

Hendrickson is widely known as the founder and president of Silver Towne, a coin dealership and mint he founded in 1949 in Winchester, Ind. He began by selling coins out of a cigar box stashed under the counter of his restaurant, and the business grew from there. Today, Silver Towne employs 100 people and features a coin shop, jewelry and collectibles departments, and custom mint. 

“It’s just beyond my imagination how much business is out there. But the hobby’s fellowship has meant so much more to me than the money,” Hendrickson said. Hendrickson is an active member of more than 30 numismatic organizations and a tireless advocate and promoter of the hobby. He is a former president of the Professional Numismatists Guild, Central States Numismatic Society and Indiana State Numismatic Association. 

An ANA life member, Hendrickson previously won the ANA Medal of Merit (1990) and Presidential Award (2003). He has received lifetime achievement awards from the National Silver Dollar Roundtable, the Blue Ridge Numismatic Association and the Professional Numismatists Guild. 

“Whenever the hobby community has presented a challenge to him with a request for his participation, Hendrickson has simply done what was asked and what was right,” ANA Governor Clifford Mishler said. “He always has time for the individual collector seeking information, or a marketplace for buying or selling coins. It doesn’t matter if the object is a proof set or an 1804 dollar.” 

The ANA Numismatist of the Year Award is given annually for career achievement in the field of numismatics. Past winners include John Dannreuther (2007), Mark Salzberg (2006), Adna G. Wilde (2005) and Kenneth E. Bressett (2004). 

Originally Release Date: June 30, 2008
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9821
                       Email: pr@money.org


We use cookies to provide users the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we'll assume that you agree to receive all cookies on money.org. You may disable cookies at any time using your internet browser configuration. By continuing to use this website, you agree to our privacy policy and terms of use. To learn more about how we use cookies and to review our privacy policy, click here.