Login

Potential 1968 filled S

So I was doing the typical afternoon routine, which is examining coins, and I came across a 1968 S BU lincoln cent that the ANA gave me. My birthday was in August and they sent me that coin, and though it is a nice coin, a BU 1968 S lincoln cent is only worth like 50 cents. 

I understood the ANA can't be just giving away valuable coins, but I also thought they could of done better than a 1968 S. So today I decided to examine the coin, and then it hit me. Maybe it was a RPM or something similar. I took out my loupe and sure enough, it looked like a filled S. That definitely made it worth more than a standard 1968 S.

I attached some pics, so let me know what you think. I couldn't get the best pictures, but when examined in person it is almost undoubtedly a filled S. Let me know what you think, because I am not a professional either. 

1 year ago

Note: there doesn't seem to be much filling in the top part of the mintmark, I mostly see it in the lower half. My guess is that is a die chip of some kind. So would filled S be the proper term?

1 year ago

Definitely a filled S, and when is your birthday? Because mine is August 30 and I got a 1968-S also, and I noticed something was different about it, let me go check it.

1 year ago

August 19. Maybe they had a OBW roll of 1968 S cents that they were using then

1 year ago

Ya maybe, mine looks like it has an RPM or a filled S or something, here is a pic:

1 year ago

That definitely looks like an S/S, but I don't see a die chip on it

1 year ago

where would it be?

1 year ago

These are just normal 1968-S, the S mint mark aan the dies of this year weren't very sharp.

1 year ago