2016 Heath Literary Awards

The ANA's 2016 literary awards—recognizing articles published in the 2015 volume of the ANA's official magazine, *The Numismatist*—were presented on August 11 at the ANA World's Fair of Money® in Anaheim, California. The Numismatist was launched by ANA founder and first editor Dr. George F. Heath in 1888, and is celebrating its 129th year of nearly continuous publication.

The Heath Literary Award, introduced in 1949 and now underwritten by Q. David Bowers, acknowledges outstanding articles published in the preceding 12 months. First place went to **Eric Brothers** for his October 2015 article, "The Brilliant and Corrupt Franklin Peale," which described how the U.S. Mint's chief coiner improved production methods, but was more interested in augmenting his wealth. Brothers received \$250 and an engraved nickelsilver medal designed in 2013 by artist and ANA member Jamie Franki.

Ron Guth received second place (\$100 and an engraved bronze medal) for his feature article "100 Greatest Women on Coins" (October 2015), which underscored the important roles of gals and grande dames throughout history.

Robert Bair Jr. received



third place (an engraved bronze medal) for "Legendary Collector" (August 2015), in which he explained how Louis Kaufman assembled an impressive coin cabinet and made significant contributions to banking and his hometown.

Charmy Harker received an honorable mention for "Penny Potpourri" (March 2015), which illustrated how the lowly denomination inspired a host of novelties.

The Wayte and Olga Raymond Memorial Literary Award, endowed in 1978 by the late John J. Ford Jr., is presented for articles in The Numismatist that display original and comprehensive research in U.S. numismatics. R.W. Julian's "U.S. Mint Expense Warrants of 1793" (December 2015) received first-place honors (\$400) and showed how contemporary accounting documents are critical to understanding the mint's affairs at the end of the 18th century. William Hyder and Jeff Shevlin were awarded second place (\$200) for "Die Trials: Insights into the U.S. Mint's Medal Production" (March 2015), in which the authors looked at 1894 California Midwinter International Exposition medals and how they reveal

new opportunities for -research. **Erik Goldstein** received third place for "A Present from Saint-Gaudens" (September 2015). The article relates how the iconic artist's friends staged a celebratory play in his honor, and he thanked them by giving each an exquisite plaquette.

Funded by an anonymous donor, the first-place **Catherine Sheehan Literary Award** for U.S. Paper Money Studies (\$50) was presented to **Kent Ponterio** for "The First National Bank of Tustin" (November 2015), which explained how a California financial institution issued four types of notes, of which very few exist today. Second place went to **Bart A. Stump** for "Revolutionary Rarities" (December 2015), which detailed how the symbolism and Latin motto depicted on a Pennsylvania town's paper money was intended to promote the patriots' revolutionary cause.

All feature articles published in *The Numismatist* are considered for ANA Literary Awards. For information about submitting manuscripts for review and -possible publication,

e-mail Editor Barbara Gregory at gregory@money.org.