In 1891 Dr. George F. Heath called for the creation of an American Numismatic Association in his magazine, The Numismatist. His goal was to advance knowledge of and interest in the “hobby of kings.” Later that year the ANA was founded at its first convention, held in Chicago. In 1912 the organization received a federal charter from Congress and signed by President William H. Taft; in 1962 this charter was amended and signed by President John F. Kennedy. The ANA is now the largest non-profit numismatic organization in the world.

In 1961, the ANA Board of Governors voted to create a permanent headquarters and established a building fund in the same year. After an extensive search, Colorado Springs was selected thanks to the efforts of former mayor William C. Henderson. A groundbreaking ceremony was held on September 6, 1966 on land leased from Colorado College for $1 a year for 99 years. On December 20, the $250,000 building fund goal was reached and the new headquarters was dedicated and officially opened on June 10, 1967.

ANA Headquarters has been renovated twice since opening — in 1982, when the second story was added, and in 2001, when the museum and library were refurbished.

(Same as text above)

Click on the items in the case image below for an enhanced view

We use cookies to provide users the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we'll assume that you agree to receive all cookies on money.org. You may disable cookies at any time using your internet browser configuration. By continuing to use this website, you agree to our privacy policy and terms of use. To learn more about how we use cookies and to review our privacy policy, click here.